A Week I will never forget – by Ian Stephens

I have always been up for a challenge, so when I was asked if I would like to take part in this one, I didn’t have to think twice. I was also moved by the charity and how the Whittington hospital had given Steve and Kris’s son Charlie a start in life after being born prematurely. I just wanted to do it!!

What I didn’t realise was how tough it would prove to be.

Collectively, we all posted our messages during the journey from Farnham to Dover, but, I haven’t really been able to describe my feelings and emotions, and only now after divorcing myself away from our trip, have I been able to think about it and what it meant, not just to me but the three fantastic guys that I shared this epic experience with.

Each of us hit highs and lows during the course of the 5 days. We didn’t have to say anything to each other about how we were feeling when our bodies were hurting and we felt that we couldn’t do any more. The guys would just know. In return, they would encourage and make you feel better, and help you pull through. I had an instance on the final day when we were heading along the cliffs into Dover. I suffer terribly from heights and I started to panic as we were very close to the edge of the cliff, with just a foot of grass between us and an 800 foot drop. The wind was coming in off land hitting us as if it were trying to push us over. I panicked and totally lost my mind. The encouragement that I got from each of my companions was enough to get me through and beat my demons.

We will also never ever be able to describe the emotions of the 128 miles that we walked. The pain that Jacko suffered from day one to his toes, the foot problems that Ian had very early in the task and the unbelievable amount of blisters that Millsy amassed from day one.

In my book, Richard Jackson, Ian Smith and Steve Mills are  absolute heroes. I am also very proud to have got to know them all even better and to have made a new friend in Steve

We have now raised approximately £3,300 with the inclusion of gift aid, which is spectacular. It was worth every layer of skin lost, every muscle ache and every single step across muddy terrain, fields, gravel and climb.

We also had a lot of laughs along the way 🙂

Thank you fellas for a week I’ll never forget

WE DID IT!!

Ian

One thought on “A Week I will never forget – by Ian Stephens

Please leave a message of support if you wish..

